Name and surname : Yedy ISRAEL.


          • Biochemist (University of Chile).
          • PhD (University of Toronto, Canada).

Current charges:

  • Professor of Molecular and Clinical Pharmacology.

Institution / Affiliation: Universidad de Chile.

City-Country : Santiago, Chile.


Research Society on Alcoholism (RSA-USA). International Society for Biomedical Research on Alcoholism (ISBRA). Latin Ameican Society of Research on Alcoholsm (LASBRA)

Research lines / topics:

Alcohol-mechanisms of reward and reinforcement and (ii) mechanisms of conditioned relapse. (ii) role of dopamine, glutamate, (iv) interaction (gut microbiota-vagus nerve -brain).

Main publications:

Karahanian E, Quintanilla ME, Tampier L, Rivera-Meza M, Bustamante D, Gonzalez-Lira V. Morales P, Herrera-Marschitz M, * Israel Y. ETHANOL AS A PRODRUG: BRAIN METABOLISM OF ETHANOL MEDIATES ITS REINFORCING EFFECTS. Alcohol Clin Exp Res 35: 606-612, 2011

Israel Y, Quintanilla ME, Morales P, Santapau D, Berios Carcamo P, EZquer M, Herrera-Marschitz M. Aspirin and N-acetylcysteine ​​co-administration markedly inhibit chronic ethanol intake and block relapse binge drinking: Role of neuroinflammation-oxidative stress self -perpetuation. Addict Biol. 2019 Nov 15: e12853. doi: 10.1111 / adb.12853

Ezquer F, Quintanilla ME, Moya-Flores F, Morales P, Munita JM, Olivares B, Landskron G., Hermoso M, Ezquer M, Herrera-Marschitz M, Israel Y, Innate gut microbiota predisposes to high alcohol consumption Addiction Biology. Jan 19 2021, DOI: 10.1111 / adb.13018

Other academic / professional background:

1965 Reeve Award, Ph.D. University of Toronto; Canada

1979 Pharmacological Society of Canada, Distinguished Research Upjohn Award.

1980 Jellinek Memorial Award in Alcoholism, The Jellinek International Foundation.

1990 Distinguished Researcher Award, US Research Society on Alcoholism.

1990-97 Scientific Advisory Council. National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (USA).

1997 President of Chile Chair in Sciences Award

1999-01 President, US Research Society on Alcoholism

2001- Member, Corresponding, National Academy of Sciences of Chile.

2006 Thurman Lectureship Award, Bowes Center for Alcohol Studies, Univ. North Carolina.

2012 Schmidt-Hebbel Medal, Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences of Chile

2014 International Society for Biomedical Research on Alcoholism. Ishii Memorial Award

2017 Lieber Lectureship Award. European Society for Biomed. Research on Alcoholism

2021 International Society for Biomedical Research on Alcoholism: Tabakoff Award